Categories
Outlook

All you need to know about turning new message alert pop-up on or off

Firstly, I think it is very important for you to know what Outlook.com is and how it begins in order to understand this article in a very easy way. To begin, I can define Outlook.com as a free mail service provided by Microsoft Corporation. The company created this service with the main goal of allowing users to send and receive email messages in the easiest way possible. However, Outlook.com is much more than a simple email application.

This world-famous webmail application can also be used as a manager of personal information due to its tools. Some of these features are management tasks, a schedule calendar, contact lists, journal, spam filters, virus scanning, and the ability to turn new message alert pop-up on and off. In the current article, I am going to develop this theme.

Requests for contact details

Most of the users advertise the possibility to synchronize email accounts with mobile devices as an additional tool. Nevertheless, Microsoft Corporation introduced some changes to the webmail service that required users to synchronize their email accounts before the main page would let them sign in. In addition to this, many users received messages that their email accounts could expire if they did not synchronize them with their mobile devices.

Mobile applications

Microsoft Corporation launched a wide range of client apps for world-famous mobile operating systems, letting users access their inboxes and send messages without any inconvenience. This group of applications began to be known as Accompli, which was sold to the company some years ago.

How can I turn new message alert pop-up on or off?

I should begin with a focus on defining what Desktop Alert is. This powerful feature is a type of notification that is shown on your computer at the time you receive email messages, tasks requests, or meeting requests. A Desktop Alert is always on unless you turn it off. All the information that is displayed by these alerts is based on the type of item that you received previously.

How can these items be categorized?

  1. Email message: this type of item has the ability to display the subject, the name of the sender, and some words of the message. However, it is very important to take into account that a Desktop Alert has not the ability the contents of encrypted messages. Apart from this, you are required to open the message in order to read it.
  2. Meeting request: this type of item provides you with the option of displaying the name of the sender, subject, location, and specific date of the meeting you are required to attend.
  3. Tasks request: this type of item provides you with the option of checking the name of the sender, subject, and date of the task you have to start and complete. Even you are allowed to check the start time of the task.

How to turn on or turn off alerts

If you are interested in keeping alerts visible and taking more time to read them, you are required to rest the pointers on the alerts before they fade from view. If you want to turn on or turn off alerts, you must do the following. You have to look for the File tap, press the Options button, and then tap the Mail option. After doing so, you have to choose the Display a Desktop Alert option.

If you are interested in suppressing other notifications or changing the mouse pointer, you are required to select the respective boxes for these features. After following these instructions, you have the ability to change the transparency of a Desktop Alert or how long it is visible. If you want to do so, select the Desktop Alert Settings option.

What to do when Desktop Alerts do not appear?

If an email account is being synchronized for the first time or you have requested a manual Send/Receive, Desktop alerts will not appear on your computer. Apart from this, when you use rules and your messages are moved out from of the account Inbox, you have not the ability to receive these kinds of alerts. It is also very possible that they do not appear for the whole duration of time you previously configured in your email account.